

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 19, 2016

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom on January 19, 2016. Chairperson Noonan presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

- Roll Call: Present: Andy Bell; Jim Doyle; Mike McDorman; Brad Phillips; Pam Strickler; Vice Chair Sharon Evans; Chairperson Peggy Noonan; and Secretary to the Board, President Blondin
 - Excused: David Ball and Maurice McDonald
 - Others Present: Cynthia Applin, Director of Institutional Research; Ed Busher, Dean of Student Support Services; Kris Culp, Vice President of External Affairs; Dixie Depew, Controller; Theresa Felder, Vice President of Student Affairs and Greene Center Operations; Matt Franz, Chief Information Officer; Duane Hodge, Director of Workforce Development, Sales and Outreach; Joseph Jackson, Vice President for Business Affairs; Darci Jordan, contracted marketing professional; Marvin Nephew, Chief Human Resources Officer; Toni Overholser, Director of Business and Community Development, Greene Center; Cindra Phillips, Director of Center for Teaching and Learning; Dr. Amit Singh, Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs; Amy Sues, Director of Student Success and Completion; Richard Sykes, Assistant Dean, Business and Applied Technologies; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; Melinda Van Noord, Counselor; Kathy Wilcox, Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; and Nina Wiley, Dean of Enrollment Services

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Doyle made a motion to adjourn from 2015 business sine die. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Bell reported that the Nominating Committee nominated Peggy Noonan to serve as Chair and Sharon Evans to serve as Vice Chair again this coming year. There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Phillips made a motion to accept the nominations and elect Peggy Noonan Board Chair and Sharon Evans Vice Chair. Trustee Strickler seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Vice Chair Evans made a motion to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to concur with the appointment of Joseph Jackson as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Representative Appointments

Chairperson Noonan recommended that Trustee Bell serve as a representative on the Clark State Foundation Board and that she and Trustee Evans continue to serve as representatives on the Council of Governments Board. She also recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Brad Phillips; and Pam Strickler

Human Resources Committee: Sharon Evans, Chair; Maurice McDonald; and Mike McDorman

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; and Andy Bell

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

2016 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairperson Noonan presented the 2016 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise posted on the bulletin board outside the administrative offices in the Library Resource Center, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 14, 2016	9:00 a.m. (TAC Industries, Springfield, OH)	Board Retreat
January 19, 2016	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 16, 2016	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 15, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
	(Ohio Hi-Point, Bellefontaine)	
April 2016		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
May 7, 2016	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 17, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 21, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2016		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2016		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 20, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 18, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 15, 2016	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
December 2016		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 17, 2017	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Doyle made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Phillips seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2016 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2016 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting.

Adjournment

Trustee Strickler made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Bell seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.