CLARK STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 17, 2012

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session at 4:30 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center on January 17, 2012. Chairperson Bell presided and called the meeting to order at 5:18 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans; Bill Mercurio; Peggy Noonan; Brad Phillips;

Élise Spriggs; Heather Tiefenthaler; Vice Chair Heather Corbin; Chairperson Andy Bell; and Secretary to the Board, President Rafinski

Others Present: Cynthia Applin, Director of Institutional Research and Planning; Ed

Busher, Interim Dean, Greene Center; Jane Cape, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Martha Crawmer, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Kris Culp, Vice President of Advancement; Dixie Depew, Controller; David Devier, Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs; Jim Franks, Executive Director/Dean of Corporate and Public Services; Joe Jackson, Vice President for Business Affairs; Gary Kuhn, Contract Training Facilitator; Dee Malcuit, Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences/Faculty Senator; Marvin Nephew, Director of Human Resources; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; and Kathy Wilcox,

Dean of Health and Human Services

There being no unfinished business, Vice Chair Corbin made a motion to adjourn from 2011 business sine die. Trustee Tiefenthaler seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

The Nominating Committee, comprised of Trustee Noonan (Chair), Trustee Spriggs, and Trustee Tiefenthaler nominated Andy Bell to remain as Chair for a third year. The Committee also nominated Heather Corbin to serve as Vice Chair another year. Trustee Doyle made a motion to close the nominations and elect Andy Bell as Board Chair and Heather Corbin as Vice Chair. Trustee Tiefenthaler seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Bell reappointed President Karen Rafinski as Secretary to the Board and reappointed Joseph Jackson as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute.

Representative Appointments

Chairman Bell recommended that Trustee Tiefenthaler serve as a representative on the Clark State Foundation Board. He also recommended that Trustees Doyle and Evans serve as representatives on the Council of Governments Board.

Chairman Bell recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Finance and Facilities Committee: Heather Corbin, Chair; Jim Doyle; Peg Noonan; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Bill Mercurio, Chair; Brad Phillips; Élise Spriggs; and Heather Tiefenthaler

Human Resources Committee: Peg Noonan, Chair; Heather Corbin; Sharon Evans; and Élise Spriggs

Strategy Meeting Agendas Committee: Heather Corbin; Jim Doyle; and Heather Tiefenthaler

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

2012 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Bell presented the 2012 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise posted on the bulletin board outside the administrative offices in the Library Resource Center, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 17, 2012	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 21, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Charter Night
March 20, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 17, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 15, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 9, 2012	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
June 19, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2012		No Formal Meeting
August 2012		No Formal Meeting
September 18, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 16, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 20, 2012	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
December 2012		No Formal Meeting
January 15, 2013	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

It was noted that a list of action and information items to be discussed at each meeting was also distributed.

Trustee Tiefenthaler made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Mercurio seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2012 Board of Trustees Directory

Chairman Bell indicated that a 2012 Board of Trustees Directory had been distributed prior to the meeting.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Trustee Evans made a motion to adjourn the reorganization meeting at 5:24 p.m. Trustee Doyle seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.