CLARK STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 15, 2013

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session at 4:30 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center on January 15, 2013. Chairperson Bell presided and called the meeting to order at 4:54 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans*; Peggy Noonan; Brad Phillips; Heather

Tiefenthaler; Vice Chair Heather Corbin; Chairperson Andy Bell; and

Secretary to the Board, President Rafinski

Excused: Élise Spriggs

Others Present: Cynthia Applin, Director of Institutional Research and Planning; Jane Cape,

Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Martha Crawmer, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Kris Culp, Vice President of Advancement; Dixie Depew*, Controller; David Devier, Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs; Jennifer Dietsch, Director of Marketing; Theresa Felder, Interim Dean, Greene Center; Joe Jackson, Vice President for Business Affairs; Dee Malcuit, Associate Professor, Arts and Sciences/Faculty Senate President; Marvin Nephew, Director of Human Resources; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; and Kathy Wilcox, Dean of Health and Human Services

There being no unfinished business, Vice Chair Corbin made a motion to adjourn from 2012 business sine die. Trustee Tiefenthaler seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

The Nominating Committee, comprised of Trustees Phillips, Spriggs, and Tiefenthaler, nominated Jim Doyle to serve as Chair and Heather Corbin to serve as Vice Chair this coming year. Trustee Tiefenthaler made a motion to close the nominations and elect Jim Doyle as Board Chair and Heather Corbin as Vice Chair. Trustee Noonan seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Departing Chairman Bell requested that newly appointed Chairman Doyle preside over the remainder of the meeting.

Trustee Bell made a motion to reappoint President Karen Rafinski as Secretary to the Board and to concur with the ratification of Joseph Jackson as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Vice Chair Corbin seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Representative Appointments

Chairman Doyle recommended that Vice Chair Corbin serve as a representative on the Clark State Foundation Board. He also recommended that Trustee Evans continue to serve as a representative on the Council of Governments Board and that Trustee Tiefenthaler serve on it as well.

Chairman Doyle recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Finance and Facilities Committee: Heather Corbin, Chair; Andy Bell; Peggy Noonan; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Brad Phillips, Chair; Andy Bell; Élise Spriggs; and Heather Tiefenthaler

Human Resources Committee: Élise Spriggs, Chair; Heather Corbin; Sharon Evans; and Peggy Noonan

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

2013 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Doyle presented the 2013 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise posted on the bulletin board outside the administrative offices in the Library Resource Center, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 15, 2013	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 19, 2013	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 19, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 16, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 4, 2013	10:00 a.m.	Graduation
May 21, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 18, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July and August 2013		No Formal Meetings
September 17, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 15, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 19, 2013	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
December 14, 2013	•	Graduation/No Formal Meeting
January 21, 2014	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

^{*}Trustee Evans and Dixie Depew entered the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Trustee Phillips made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Vice Chair Corbin seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2013 Board of Trustees Directory

Chairman Doyle noted that a 2013 Board of Trustees Directory had been distributed prior to the meeting, and Trustees were asked to contact Mellanie Toles if any changes are necessary.

Trustee Bell Honored

On behalf of the Board and the College, President Rafinski and Chairman Doyle presented Trustee Bell with a rocking chair as a token of appreciation for his three years of outstanding service as Chairman of the Board and expressed appreciation for his leadership during that time. Chairman Doyle commented that what the College has accomplished over the last three years has been legendary – a tribute to Trustee Bell's leadership abilities.

Adjournment

Trustee Phillips made a motion to adjourn the reorganization meeting, and Trustee Tiefenthaler seconded it. The meeting adjourned at 5:02 p.m.