

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 17, 2017

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom on January 17, 2017. Chairperson Noonan presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Oath of Office

Chairperson Noonan administered the Oath of Office to re-appointed Trustees Sharon Evans and Brad Phillips.

Roll Call: Present: David Ball; Andy Bell; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald; Mike McDorman; Brad

Phillips; Vice Chair Sharon Evans; Chairperson Peggy Noonan; and Secretary

to the Board, President Blondin

Excused: Jim Doyle

Others Present: Adele Adkins, Executive Director of the Performing Arts Center; Aimee

Belanger-Haas, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Dr. Terry Calaway, Team Lead, Collaborative Brain Trust; Dr. Sterling Coleman, Director of Library Services; Michael Cuffman, Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences; Julia Daniels, Assistant to the Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Dixie Depew, Controller; David Farrell, Senior Staff Accountant; Theresa Felder, Vice President of Student Affairs and Greene Center Operations; Therese Filicko, Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences/Faculty Senate President; Matt Franz, Chief Information Officer; Kyle Fuchs, Controller; Ron Gordon, Dean of Student Support Services; Naomi Louis, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Jan Lyddon, Chief Senior Consultant, Collaborative Brain Trust; Catie Maher*, Director of the Foundation; Laurie Means. Director of Marketing; Marvin Nephew, Chief Human Resources Officer; Toni Overholser, Director of Workforce and Business Solutions; Victoria Peters, Student Senate President; Cindra Phillips, Director of Center for Teaching and Learning; Dr. Amit Singh, Provost/Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs; Gwen Stevenson, Registered Nursing Program Coordinator; Amy Sues, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs; Richard Sykes, Assistant Dean, Business and Applied Technologies; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; Larry Wakefield, Interim Vice President for Business Affairs; Kathy Wilcox, Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Nina Wiley, Dean of Enrollment Services; and Antoinette Yancey, Student Records Specialist/Staff Senate President

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Phillips made a motion to adjourn from 2016 business sine die. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Bell reported that the Nominating Committee nominated Sharon Evans to serve as Chair and Brad Phillips to serve as Vice Chair this year. There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee McDonald made a motion to accept the nominations and elect Sharon Evans Board Chair and Brad Phillips Vice Chair. Trustee Hall seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Bell made a motion to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to concur with the appointment of Larry Wakefield as Interim Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Phillips seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Noonan requested that newly appointed Chairperson Evans preside over the remainder of the meeting.

Chairperson Evans thanked the Nominating Committee for its nomination and the Board members for their support. She thanked Trustee Noonan for all she has done on behalf of the Board and the College and presented her with a gift of appreciation. Trustee Noonan thanked the Board, faculty and staff for their support the past two years, noting that it has been an honor to serve.

Representative Appointments

Chairperson Evans recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; and Andy Bell

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Peggy Noonan; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Kyle Hall; and Brad Phillips

Human Resources Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; Maurice McDonald; and Mike McDorman

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Chairperson Evans indicated that a representative to the Foundation Board will be named at the March Board of Trustees meeting.

Trustee Ball made a motion to accept the committee appointments, and Trustee Hall seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

2017 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairperson Noonan presented the 2017 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise posted on the bulletin board outside the administrative offices in the Library Resource Center, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 17, 2017	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 2, 2017	8:00 a.m. (Mills Park Hotel, Yellow Springs)	Board Retreat
February 21, 2017	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 21, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
	(Food Science Lab, South High, Springfield)	
April 18, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 6, 2017	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 16, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 20, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2017		No Formal Meeting,
		unless needed
August 2017		No Formal Meeting,
		unless needed
September 19, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 17, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 21, 2017	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
December 2017		No Formal Meeting,
		unless needed
January 16, 2018	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Hall made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Phillips seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2017 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2017 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chairperson Evans asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

Adjournment

Trustee Bell made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Phillips seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m.