

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 16, 2018

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom on January 16, 2018. Chairperson Evans presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: David Ball; Andy Bell; Jim Doyle; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald;

Mike McDorman; Peggy Noonan; Vice Chair Brad Phillips; Chairperson Sharon

Evans; and Secretary to the Board, President Blondin

Others Present: Aimee Belanger-Haas, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Dr. Sterling

Coleman, Director of Library Services; Mike Cuffman, Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences; Brian Edwards, Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Dr. Theresa Felder, Vice President of Student Affairs/Greene Center Operations; Therese Filicko, Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences/SOAR Program Participant; Dr. Matt Franz, Vice President of Information Technology; Ron Gordon, Dean of Enrollment Services: Karen Hunt, Clark State Foundation Alumni Engagement/Annual Fund Coordinator; Kara Jackson, Assistant Professor, Health, Human and Public Services/SOAR Program Participant; Naomi Louis, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Laurie Means, Executive Director of Marketing; Charmaine Misick, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR Program Participant; Dr. Melinda Mohler, Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences/Faculty Senate President; Toni Overholser, Director of Workforce and Business Solutions; Cindra Phillips, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning; Dr. Amit Singh, Provost/Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs; Gwen Stevenson, Registered Nursing Program Director; Amy Sues, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs; Richard Sykes, Assistant Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; Larry Wakefield, Interim Vice President for Business Affairs; Nathan Walters, Information Technology Client Support Manager/Staff Senate President Elect/SOAR Program Participant; Laura Whetstone, Human Resources Manager; and Nina Wiley, Dean of Student Engagement and Support Services

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Ball made a motion to adjourn from 2017 business sine die. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Noonan reported that the Nominating Committee nominated Sharon Evans to serve as Chair and Brad Phillips to serve as Vice Chair again this year. There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Noonan made a motion to accept the nominations and elect Sharon Evans Board Chair and Brad Phillips Vice Chair, reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to concur with the appointment of Larry Wakefield as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Hall seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Representative Appointments

Chairperson Evans recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; and Andy Bell

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Peggy Noonan; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Kyle Hall; and Brad Phillips

Human Resources Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; Maurice McDonald; and Mike McDorman

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Trustee McDorman made a motion to accept the committee appointments, and Trustee Noonan seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

2018 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairperson Evans presented the 2018 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 16, 2018	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 20, 2018	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 29, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 17, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
	(Greene Center, Beavercreek)	
May 12, 2018	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 15, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 19, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2018		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2018		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 18, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 16, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
	(Urbana, location TBD)	
November 20, 2018	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

December 2018		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 15, 2019	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

It was noted that the March Board Meeting date is not on the third Tuesday of the month due to a conflict with the League of Innovation in the Community College conference, at which President Blondin, Chair Evans and several SOAR Mentoring Program participants will be presenting. It was also noted that a Special Board Meeting may be needed on Tuesday, February 20, 2018, at 5:00 p.m. prior to the Charter Night Celebration for action on the health clinic proposal and Applied Baccalaureate Degree paperwork for the Higher Learning Commission. Mellanie Toles will send reminders to Trustees regarding these dates. Trustee Doyle made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Noonan seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2018 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2018 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chairperson Evans asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

Adjournment

Trustee Ball made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Hall seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.