CLARK STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 21, 2014

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session at 4:30 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center on January 21, 2014. Chairperson Bell presided and called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: Andy Bell; Peggy Noonan; Brad Phillips; Heather Tiefenthaler*; Vice Chair

Heather Corbin; Chairperson Jim Doyle; and Secretary to the Board,

President Blondin

Excused: Sharon Evans

Others Present: Cynthia Applin, Director of Institutional Research and Planning; Jane Cape,

Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Kris Culp, Vice President of Advancement; Dixie Depew, Controller; Theresa Felder, Vice President of Student Affairs and Greene Center Operations; Matt Franz, Director of Information Technology; Joe Jackson, Vice President for Business Affairs; Marvin Nephew, Director of Human Resources; and Mellanie Toles,

Assistant to the President

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Phillips made a motion to adjourn from 2013 business sine die. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

The Nominating Committee nominated Jim Doyle to serve another term as Chair and Peggy Noonan to serve as Vice Chair this coming year. Trustee Bell made a motion to close the nominations and elect Jim Doyle as Board Chair and Peggy Noonan as Vice Chair. Trustee Phillips seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Bell made a motion to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to concur with the appointment of Joseph Jackson as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Corbin seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Representative Appointments

Chairman Doyle recommended that Vice Chair Noonan serve as a representative on the Clark State Foundation Board and that Trustees Evans and Tiefenthaler continue to serve as representatives on the Council of Governments Board. He also recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Finance and Facilities Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; Andy Bell; Heather Corbin; and Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Brad Phillips, Chair; Andy Bell; and Heather Tiefenthaler

Human Resources Committee: Heather Corbin, Chair; Sharon Evans; and Peggy Noonan

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Trustee Bell suggested that the Board consider adding a Governance Committee to ensure that everything is running as it should. He indicated that Wittenberg University's is very active. Chairman Doyle requested that he share the committee's charges with the Board for consideration.

2014 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Doyle presented the 2014 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise posted on the bulletin board outside the administrative offices in the Library Resource Center, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 21, 2014	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 18, 2014	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 18, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 15, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 10, 2014	10:00 a.m.	Graduation
May 20, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 17, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July and August 2014	2	No Formal Meetings
September 16, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 21, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 18, 2014	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
December 13, 2014	•	Graduation/No Formal Meeting
January 20, 2015	4:30 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

^{*}Trustee Tiefenthaler entered the meeting at 4:40 p.m.

Trustee Corbin made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Phillips seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2014 Board of Trustees Directory

Chairman Doyle noted that a 2014 Board of Trustees Directory had been distributed prior to the meeting, and Trustees were asked to contact Mellanie Toles with any necessary changes.

Trustee Appointments

President Blondin reported that we have a potential Trustee candidate; Colleen Ryan, retired Wright Patterson Air Force Base Commander and current President at Vectren, has applied. She is an active member of the region and a good representative for our service area. Although she lives in Montgomery County, that does not seem to be an issue.

Trustee Phillips noted that we have three Trustees with terms expiring in November this year and asked about the process for reappointment. President Blondin indicated that she will follow up with Senator Widener regarding how to expedite the process.

Adjournment

Chairman Doyle adjourned the meeting at 5:02 p.m.