

# Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

## MINUTES January 21, 2020

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom on January 21, 2020. Chairperson Phillips presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

- **Roll Call:** Present: Andy Bell; Sharon Evans; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald; Mike McDorman\*; Vice Chair David Ball; Chairperson Brad Phillips; and Secretary to the Board, President Blondin
  - Excused: Jim Doyle and Peggy Noonan
  - Others Present: Adele Adkins, Executive Director of the Performing Arts Center; Dan Ayars, Director of Facilities, Operations and Maintenance; Lesli Beavers, Director of Workforce and Business Solutions; Aimee Belanger-Haas, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Travis Binkley, Assistant Dean of Advising and Enrollment Services; Dr. Sterling Coleman, Director of Library Services; Mike Cuffman, Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Theresa Felder, Senior Vice President of Student Success; Dr. Matt Franz, Vice President of Information Technology and Emergency Management; Ron Gordon, Dean of Enrollment Services; Suzanne Harmon, Director of Financial Aid; Robyn Hennigan, Assistant Professor, Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR participant; Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Vice President of Academic Affairs; Dr. Bridget Ingram, Professor, Health, Human and Public Services/SOAR participant; Natalie Johnson, Associate Dean, Greene County Campuses; Crystal Jones, Assistant Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Naomi Louis, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Victoria Marling, Professor, Business and Applied Technologies/Faculty Senate President; Laurie Means, Executive Director of Marketing; Kathy Nelson, Controller; Toni Overholser, Director of the Foundation; Cindra Phillips, Director, Center for Teaching and Learning; Nicole Rice, Success Coach/Career Navigator; Taylor Roberts, Grants Development Coordinator; Dr. Rhoda Sommers, Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Gwen Stevenson, Director of Nursing Programs; Amy Sues, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, and Assessment; Mellanie Toles, Executive Assistant to the President and Coordinator of Special Projects; Larry Wakefield, Vice President for Business Affairs; Laura Whetstone, Director of Human Resources; Toni Yancey, Success Coach/SOAR participant; and Tracy Yates, Director of Conference Services/Staff Senate President; and Nina Wiley, Dean of Student Engagement and Support Services

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Bell made a motion to adjourn from 2019 business sine die. Trustee Evans seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

#### **REORGANIZATION MEETING**

### Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Bell reported that the Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate Brad Phillips to continue serving as Chair and for David Ball to continue to serve as Vice Chair this year.

\*Trustee McDorman entered the meeting at 4:47 p.m.

There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Evans made a motion to accept the nominations and elect Brad Phillips Board Chair and David Ball Vice Chair. Trustee Hall seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Vice Chair Ball made a motion to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to reappoint Larry Wakefield as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Evans seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

#### **Representative Appointments**

Chairman Phillips recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; and Andy Bell

**Finance and Facilities Committee**: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans; and Peggy Noonan

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; and Kyle Hall

Human Resources Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; Sharon Evans; Maurice McDonald; and Mike McDorman

## Representative to the Clark State Foundation Board: David Ball

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

#### 2020 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Phillips presented the 2020 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 21, 2020	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 18, 2020	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 17, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 21, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 9, 2020	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 19, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 23, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 <sup>th</sup> Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2020		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2020		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 15, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 20, 2020	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 17, 2020	8:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.	Board Retreat
December 2020		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 19, 2021	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Vice Chair Ball made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Evans seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

## 2020 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2020 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chairman Phillips asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

#### Adjournment

Trustee Evans made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Vice Chair Ball seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:49 p.m.