

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 18, 2022

The Clark State College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom with the majority of guests attending virtually via LifeSize due to the COVID-19 pandemic on January 18, 2022. Chairperson Hall presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call:

Present in Person: Jim Doyle, Maurice McDonald, Brad Phillips, Chairman Kyle Hall, Vice Chair David Ball, and President Jo Alice Blondin

Present Virtually: Andy Bell, Sharon Evans, Mike McDorman, and Peggy Noonan

Others Present in Person: Dr. Matt Franz, Senior Vice President of Technology, Safety and Strategic Initiatives; Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs; Crystal Jones, Vice President for Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact; Dr. Dawayne Kirkman, Vice President of Student Affairs; Toni Overholser, Executive Director of the Clark State Foundation; Doug Schantz, Vice President for Business Affairs; and Mellanie Toles, Executive Assistant to the President and Coordinator of Special Projects

Others Present Virtually: Cami Akey, Coordinator of Student Services, Greene Center/SOAR participant; Dan Ayars, Director of Facilities, Operations and Maintenance; Kierre Brown, Instructor, Business and Applied Technologies; Mark Brown, Adjunct Faculty, Arts and Sciences/SOAR participant; Katherine Cass, Instructor, Health, Human and Public Services; Lori Common, Assistant to the Vice President for Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact; Adam Curtis, Risk and Emergency Management Coordinator; Dr. Arly Drake, Assistant Professor, Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR participant; Eric Ebbs, Client Support Technician/Staff Senate President; David Farrell, Senior Staff Accountant; Dr. Christopher Green, Assistant Dean, Health, Human and Public Services; Asiah Jeffries, Client Support Technician/SOAR participant; Tina Jones, Staff Accountant; Senti Longkumer, Assistant Dean, Arts and Sciences; Kathy Nelson, Controller; Kelly Neriani, Senior Institutional Research Analyst; Dr. Patience Olajide, Assistant Professor, Health, Human and Public Services/SOAR participant; Dr. Adam Parrillo, Assistant Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Gerritt Smith, Director, Workforce and Business Solutions; Michael Stitts, Professional Development Coordinator, Academic Affairs; Dr. Rhoda Sommers, Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Amy Sues, Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, Assessment, and Accreditation; Mary Adelaide Taylor, Director, Nursing Program; Nina Wiley, Dean of Student Engagement and Support Services; and Desiree Williams, Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning

There being no unfinished business, Vice Chair Ball made a motion to adjourn from 2021 business sine die. Trustee Doyle seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Noonan reported that the Nominating Committee met on November 16 and would like to nominate Kyle Hall to continue serving as Chair and for David Ball to continue serving as Vice Chair this year. They also would like to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and Doug Schantz as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute.

There being no nominations from the floor, Vice Chair Ball made a motion to accept the nominations and reappointments. Trustee Phillips seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

Representative Appointments

Chair Hall recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; Andy Bell

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans; Peggy Noonan; Brad Phillips

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Sharon Evans

Human Resources Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; Maurice McDonald; Mike McDorman

Representative to the Clark State Foundation Board: Peggy Noonan

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Trustee McDonald made a motion to approve the committee appointments as presented. Trustee Noonan seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

2022 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Hall presented the 2022 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 18, 2022	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 22, 2022	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 15, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 19, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 14, 2022	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 17, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 28, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 th Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2022		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2022		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 20, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 18, 2022	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 15, 2022	8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.	Board Retreat
December 2022		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 17, 2023	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Bell made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Doyle seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

2022 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2022 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chair Hall asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Vice Chair Ball made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee McDonald seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:49 p.m.