Skip to Content
About Us
Bell, Killian Honored at Clark State Charter Night

Bell, Killian Honored at Clark State Charter Night

February 23, 2017

Clark State Community College Board of Trustee Andy Bell was honored as a Champion of Clark State at the 55th Annual Charter Night held Tuesday, February 21 at the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center in downtown Springfield.

“I’m very honored. Clark State is one of my favorite outside activities,” said Bell. “I believe in the mission of Clark State and what we do for our students. It’s exciting times for community colleges because they are really coming into their own with partnerships with high schools and four-year colleges. The value of community colleges is at an all-time high.”

Bell’s involvement started with the Clark State Foundation Board in 2000. He served on the Foundation Board for three terms, including two terms as chairperson, and was one of the first mentors for the Champion City Scholars program. During his service on the Foundation Board, he was appointed to the Clark State Board of Trustees in 2006 and has served multiple terms as both chairperson and vice chairperson of that Board. He is the only person to have served as chairperson of both the College Board and the Foundation Board.

In 2003, Bell served as chairperson of the College’s major gifts campaign, which raised $11 million. Bell and his wife Cathy also personally led fundraising efforts through their own giving. They have been generous and loyal donors to scholarships, Project Jericho and the Performing Arts Center.

During Bell’s service as a trustee, he was instrumental in several building projects on the Springfield campuses as well as the establishment of the Greene Center in Beavercreek. He played a vital role as the College conducted a presidential search, developed a comprehensive strategic plan and built a partnership with the Global Impact STEM Academy.

He was honored by the Ohio Association of Community Colleges as a Friend of Community Colleges in 2006.

Charter Night is a mission-focused event that honors faculty and staff for their hard work and recognizes campus award recipients. Faculty and staff were honored for their years of service with the College, and retired professor Dr. Lawrence Killian was honored with the Professor Emeritus Award.

Dr. Killian started his career at Clark State as an adjunct instructor teaching biology classes while employed full-time as a faculty member at Cedarville University. He later transitioned to a full-time faculty position teaching anatomy and physiology. Dr. Killian was one of the first faculty to transition courses to an online format.

Dr. Killian was an active member of a number of faculty, college-wide and ad hoc committees. He served as the Faculty Professional Development coordinator, a mentor for new faculty and as a resource for faculty applying for promotion.

The theme of this year’s Charter Night event, A College United, celebrated diversity, and Clark State presented its second annual Diversity and Inclusion Awards. The award is a symbol of the success of the College’s mission to increase diversity and create a campus climate that welcomes and supports all individuals. The award recognizes individuals involved in higher education and community leaders, who have implemented innovative strategies to promote the development of the skills and knowledge necessary to meet the needs of a multicultural society.

This year’s Diversity and Inclusion award recipients include Ronald J. Gordon, dean of student support services for Clark State; and the NAACP Springfield Chapter Executive Committee.

Additional awards at Charter Night included:

Adjunct Faculty Professional Excellence Award Recipients
Marin Smith
Dr. Brandy Phipps
Rich Hancock

Faculty Professional Excellence Award Recipients
Tom Duffee
Dr. Bridget Ingram
Dr. Robert Sweet

Staff Professional Excellence Award Recipients
Kristin Skiles
Justin McCulla
Nikki Smith
Missty Rhodes

5 Years of Service
Camille Akey
Deborah Corvin
Craig Falke
Tina Jones
Janet Taylor
Kyle Thullen
Melinda Van Noord

10 Years of Service
Caroline Cary-Devine
David Farrell
Duane Hodge
Missty Rhodes
Nikki Smith
Cathy Tagg
Nina Wiley

15 Years of Service
Dr. Laurie Buchanan
Julia Daniels
Petra Deason
Corey Holliday
Teresa Kelble
Fabian Novello

20 Years of Service
Robert J. Adkins
Christa Bostick
Karen S. Clark
Kathy A. Klay

25 Years of Service
Peggy J. Marshall
Beverly A. Stevens
Kathleen J. Wilcox

30 Years of Service
Susan E. Bayes 

Media Contact

Crystal Jones Vice President of Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact