Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State Honors Outstanding Students at Annual Event

Clark State Honors Outstanding Students at Annual Event

May 2, 2018

Clark State Community College held Student Recognition Night April 11 at the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center in downtown Springfield.

Student Recognition Night is an annual event recognizing and celebrating outstanding students. This year 50 students were honored in various areas including Student Life (Phi Theta Kappa, Student Ambassadors, Student Senate, Creative Writer’s Club, Physical Therapist Assistant Club), Perseverance, Work Study, Campus Involvement and Academic Programs.

“Student Recognition Night is one of my favorite events,” said Nina Wiley, dean of student engagement and support services for Clark State. “We have the opportunity to celebrate the successes of our students’ accomplishments inside and outside of the classroom. It is an honor to acknowledge the efforts and achievements of our students.”

The keynote speaker was Katy Cardoza. She is a 2009 Clark State graduate with a Practical Nursing certificate. In Fall 2015, Cardoza returned to Clark State to begin the LPN to RN Transition program.

“During this time, Katy was an active student leader on campus, making her mark as a Student Ambassador, Student Senator and a member of Phi Theta Kappa,” said Wiley. “She received the outstanding student award for two consecutive years! In December 2017, Katy earned her associate degree in Registered Nursing and recently began working as a critical care nurse at Dayton Children’s Hospital.”

Faculty, staff and student organization advisors nominated outstanding students in their programs. Students who were recognized received a medallion that will be worn at commencement.

Students Recognized:

San Diego, CA
Larry Shaw

Jasmine Judkins        
Tabitha Miles
Cecil Pratt      
Halie White   

Greg Brand   

Belle Center
Jenna Johnson

Ashlynn Kingery       

Korey Arvin  
Shawn Combs

Elizabeth Kimmel     
Emerald McClinton   

Anthony Reed           
Atalia Smith   
Diana Thompson      
Travis McConnell     

Tianna Gordon

Stephanie Carter       
Lemohang Mokhalinya        

Amanda Ferryman   

New Carlisle
Emma Ford   
Mark Hastriter          

South Charleston
Charles Lutterloh     

Vicente Castro          
Makayla Johnson-Porter     
Brandon Treolo       
Zachary Roberts       
Aleksandra Kozlova 
Kayle Mast    
Lauren Queen           
Hannah Walls
Eliza Hershberger    
Matthew Sandrock   
Geoffrey Preston      
Winston Swearingen
Kathy Schwartz        
John Mossing
Alysia Lazear
Kaylee Wood
Erica Copen  
Samantha Eggers      
Callie Piper    
Kymberlyn Steel-Fannin      
Brooke Grider          
Kelly Fugate  
Alyssa Burchett        

Michael Wilson

Leah Garrett
Joshua Welty 
Emily Copeland

De'Janee Isaac          

Venus Vanhoose       

Media Contact

Laurie Means Executive Director, Marketing