Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State PTK Chapter Receives Numerous Honors, Welcomes Spring Inductees

Clark State PTK Chapter Receives Numerous Honors, Welcomes Spring Inductees

April 28, 2021

The 2020-21 class of Alpha Nu Lambda, Clark State Community College’s chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), received numerous kudos at the PTK Ohio Region Awards conference in March, most notably the Reach Reward Recognition for the first time.

REACH Rewards recognize and reward Phi Theta Kappa chapters that achieve or exceed a 15 percent membership acceptance rate. Clark State’s chapter membership acceptance rate was 15.2 percent; higher than the region (10.30%), division (14.10%) and International (15%).

Additional Alpha Nu Lambda chapter awards included: 

Clark State will hold its Spring 2021 Phi Theta Kappa Induction on Wednesday, April 28 at 5:30 p.m. The virtual event will be held via LifeSize and Inductees are encouraged to invite their family and friends to join online.

The Keynote Speaker will be Clark State Alumna, Emma Ford. Ford graduated from Clark State in Spring 2018 with an Associate of Science degree. She also earned a certificate in Phlebotomy in Fall 2017. During her time at Clark State, she participated in Tutoring and Supplemental Instruction for Student Services, the Student Ambassador Program, Honors Program and was an active member of Phi Theta Kappa.

In Spring 2020, Ford earned an Associate of Applied Science degree in Occupational Therapy Assistant from Rhodes State College. While at Rhodes State, she continued to be involved inside and outside the classroom and served on the Student Board of Occupational Therapy for the class of 2020. Most recently, in early Fall 2020, Emma began her Occupational Therapy Assistant career and correctly works full-time for the Clark County Educational Service Center, providing therapy services to students in school districts that the ESC services. 

“Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunities for students to strengthen their leadership skills, make meaningful connections and positively influence our Clark State community,” said PTK advisor Nina Wiley, dean of student engagement and support services at Clark State. “It’s an honor to advise such bright and talented students. I am especially proud this semester to induct my daughter, Kirsten Wiley, into this amazing group of students.”

The installation of officers will also take place at the induction:

President: Jasmin Alford

Vice President of Leadership: Emily Lefevers

Vice President of Scholarship: Renee Raines

Vice President of Service: Gracie Perkins

Public Relations Officer: Melanie Muxo

Recording Officer: Christopher Thurn

Alford said being a part of PTK changed her college experience because she does not feel like “just a student” anymore. “I feel like I belong to Clark State,” she said. “PTK has provided me with a second family. The advisors do an outstanding job keeping the members and officers involved and motivated.”

Spring inductees into Alpha Nu Lambda include 60 Clark State students.

Spring 2020 Alpha Nu Lambda Inductees:

Albuquerque, NM

Danielle Demotta



Jordyn Groves

Sophia Iannuzzi Ortiz

Melanie Muxo



Sarah Emmons



Kenneth Burgess



Angela Rice



Jacob Simonelli


Canal Winchester

Alison Scurlock



Victor Salinas



Shirika Brown

Khreah Everett

Mariah Love



Ayan Aden



Margaret Crowder-Abrams

Bethany Farquhar

Gabriel Hartsock

Jessica Hindman

Stephanie Moody



Alaina Boxell



Paul Bergeron



Taylor Brown

Aaron Chambers

Shannon Moorman

Amber Moss


Huber Heights

Cheyenne Honaker



Melissa Bruno

Stephanie Luneke

Claire Lynch



Xavier Manville

Caleb Sollars



Dorian Earl

Ethan Edwards

Kailynn Pack



Julie Doran


South Charleston

Emily Vaughn


Saint Paris

Casey Gullett



Mercedes Bustos

Ann Denton

Sariah Echols

Amerika Goad

Bennett Godinho-Nelson

Kimberly Harris

Sarah Hensel

Robert Kouns

Angela Leiss-Orndorff

Tyler Martindale

Natasia Messer

Kirsten Wiley

Luke Yuhas



Ellen Hall

Matthew Hunter


West Carrollton

Matthew Scarborough


West Liberty

Elizabeth Kensler



Kathryn Hardin



Erin Hammerstrom

Robert Pierce

Liam Sprinkle


Yellow Springs

Rebecca Spencer



Kenna Hone

Media Contact

Crystal Jones Vice President of Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact