Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State’s Therese Filicko Appointed to AACC Faculty Advisory Council

Clark State’s Therese Filicko Appointed to AACC Faculty Advisory Council

January 8, 2019

Therese Filicko, associate professor of political science at Clark State Community College, has been appointed to the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Faculty Advisory Council. She was nominated by Clark State President Dr. Jo Alice Blondin and later interviewed by two members of the Council.

Filicko has taught at Clark State since 2012. She has served as Faculty Senate chair and is currently chair of Ohio Faculty Senate of Community and Technical Colleges and co-chair of the Faculty Congress of Ohio.

“Therese is a hardworking and dedicated faculty member who does an outstanding job of representing Clark State and the profession. She was instrumental in strengthening our shared governance system on campus,” said Blondin. “She is among the most student-centered faculty with whom I have had the pleasure of working.” 

Blondin said Filicko - a graduate of Villanova and Duke Universities - has extensive research experience in positions prior to teaching and brings a unique skill set to Clark State, including strong leadership.

Filicko also participated in Clark State’s internal mentoring program, SOAR: Serving Our Own through Advancement and Retention, during the 2017-18 academic year.

“I'm looking forward to working with colleagues from other community colleges to provide the faculty perspective on student success initiatives and other topics that the AACC are working on,” said Filicko.

The American Association of Community Colleges is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges. The association represents nearly 1,200 two-year, associate degree-granting institutions and more than 12 million students.

Media Contact

Laurie Means Executive Director, Marketing