Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State to Hold Annual Athletic Banquet, Recognize Student Athletes

Clark State to Hold Annual Athletic Banquet, Recognize Student Athletes

May 1, 2017

Clark State Community College will hold their annual Athletic Banquet on Tuesday, May 2 at the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center in downtown Springfield.

“We will be recognizing all of our student athletes,” said Justin McCulla, director of athletics and student life for Clark State. “Each individual will receive a gift from the athletic department, and coaches will present awards to their top student athletes.”

Springfield North High School alumni and two-time Most Valuable Player (MVP) Wynette P. Carter-Smith will speak to the group of student-athletes and guests. Following high school, Carter-Smith received a full basketball scholarship to Wright State University where she earned four varsity letters and served as co-captain her junior and senior years.

Carter-Smith scored over 1,000 points and achieved four school records. In 2001 she was inducted into Springfield North High School’s Wall of Honor/Hall of Fame. In 2006 she was inducted into Wright State University’s Wall of Fame for basketball players and Hall of Fame in the category of all former athletes. In 2008 she was awarded Top Female Athlete in Springfield North High history.

Each Clark State athletic team nominated an MVP, Most Improved, Hustle and Student Scholar. “We will highlight our student-athletes who were on the Fall 2016 All OCCAC Academic team,” said McCulla. “And of course we will highlight Taylor Johnson for making the 2nd Team All OCCAC Women’s Basketball Team and All Freshman Team.”

McCulla said the banquet is an event where everyone can come together and celebrate. “It’s an opportunity for Clark State and the athletic department to show student-athletes appreciation for their hard work.”

Jacob Carter, Springfield
Chris Conley, Middletown
Vejer Cox, Merrillville, IN
Andrew Gilbert, Fairborn
Matthew Harris, Springfield
Jonathan Hoffman, Galion
Dalton Holycross, North Lewisburg
Sean Johnson, Springfield
Kyle Keeton, Dayton
Garrett King, London
Derrick McGowan, Trotwood
Dylan Mutchler, Bucyrus
Jacob Parcels, Springfield
Adam Parks, Somerville
Joe Sanchez, Huber Heights
Caleb Smith, Bethel

Men's Basketball
James Bailey, Middletown               
Isaiah Boyd, Worthington
Vejer Cox, Merrillville, IN
Lordi-Ari Daring, Brooklyn, NY
Taviyon Eubanks, Springfield
Sean Johnson, Springfield
Derrick McGowan, Trotwood
Darrell Miller, Dayton
Caleb Moore, Springfield
Thorne Stephens, Mt. Victory

Women's Basketball         
Danyah Barnes, Springfield
Brittany Bryant, Huntsville
Marlena Channels, Springfield
Chelsea Daniels, Dayton
DeKayla Hunter, Huber Heights
Taylor Johnson, Urbana
Breanna Mays, Springfield
Mackenzie Yocum, Zanesfield

Brittany Bryant, Huntsville
Samantha Chaffin, Fairborn
Marlena Channels, Springfield
Brianna Clouse, Springfield
Brittany Davis-Rowe, Dayton
Taylor Dixon, Huntsville
Taylor Johnson, Urbana
Carley Jones, Cedarville
Taylor Kirkpatrick, New Holland
Shelby Puckett, London
Jessica Worsham, Xenia


Media Contact

Laurie Means Executive Director, Marketing