Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State to Hold Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony for More Than 70 Students

Clark State to Hold Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony for More Than 70 Students

November 27, 2018

Alpha Nu Lambda, Clark State Community College’s chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), will hold a fall induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, November 28 at the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center in downtown Springfield.

“Phi Theta Kappa highlights the academic excellence of our students and provides opportunities for scholarship, fellowship and service,” said Nina Wiley, dean of student engagement and support services."

To be an eligible candidate for PTK, students must have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and have a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Students pay a one-time fee of $80 for a lifetime membership. Membership benefits include scholarships; free access to Five Star Competitive Edge, a personal and professional development plan for building marketable skills and an online portfolio; increased pay grade for entry-level federal jobs; tuition discounts; and more.

“Clark State President Dr. Jo Alice Blondin feels very strongly about the honor society and associated benefits,” said Wiley. “So much so, that she agreed to match half of the membership fee, reducing the fee for students to $40 for the 2018-2019 academic year.”

Alpha Nu Lambda was named a Five Star chapter in 2015, 2016 and 2017. There are more than 40 PTK chapters in the Ohio region.

Wiley and English instructor Jessica Adams are the new advisors for Alpha Nu Lambda. “We are proud to serve as advisors to this remarkable group of students. We are working to enhance the awareness of Phi Theta Kappa, increase membership and create accessible engagement opportunities for members,” said Wiley.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Fall 2018 Inductees
Kristin Abston
Ali Albishi
Arbia Ameur
Tiffany Bahan
Brittany Bailey
Derek Beasley
Jordan Birchfield
Corey Bogan
Kasey Bolyard
Tyler Bowshier
Avery Brock
Sandra Brown
Shelby Brown
McKenna Brown
Amanda Brust
Anna Burns
Gabriel Crowell
Kathrine Dahm
Sarah Decurtins
Mindy Denney
Bryce Dooley
Korene Embrack
Teryn Ferrell
Margarita Fry
Raphael Gakau
James Galloway
Jonathan Goble
Heidi Hall
Nolan Hall
Rachel Hardin
Alisha Head
Thomas Henry
Brianna Henry
Jordan Howells
Sarah Hutchison
MyKaela Jumper
Samantha Keckler
Katelyn King
Gary Kline
Aleksandra Kozlova
Caroline Kustowski
Paige Laskey
Courtney Lewis
Alivia Liimatta
Kelly Martin
Maria Martinez-Moore
Emerald McClinton
Kimberly McKinley
Maggie McLean
Jeananna McWade
Clementine Mesa
Sentemus Moss
Logan Phillips
Callie Piper
Brant Podojak
Kelli Reese
Willow Richeson
Anne Robinette
Jacquline Russell
Alexis Smith
Kristoffer St. Martin
Andrew Starr
Natalie Thomas
Carli Thompson
Rhonda Tyra
James Voisard
Lovella Wade
David Watkins
Jessica Welch
Whitney White

Media Contact

Laurie Means Executive Director, Marketing