Skip to Content
About Us
Clark State Trustee Jim Doyle Elected Chair of Ohio Association of Community Colleges Governing Board

Clark State Trustee Jim Doyle Elected Chair of Ohio Association of Community Colleges Governing Board

August 1, 2019

Clark State Community College Board of Trustees member, Jim Doyle, has been elected chair of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC) Board of Trustees. This appointment makes Doyle the second Clark State Trustee to be elected to this position following Maureen Grady in 1990.

Grady was one of the founders of the Ohio Association of Two-Year College Trustees and served as its president for three years. The organization later recognized Grady with its first Annual Excellence Award for Special Achievement in 1994. The award is the highest honor the Association can give to a community college trustee. The name of this award was subsequently changed to the Maureen C. Grady Award for Special Achievement.

Doyle is serving his fourth, six-year term at Clark State as a member of the Board of Trustees and has served as the Board chair on two separate two-year terms.

“I have been the Clark State Trustee Delegate to the Ohio Association of Community Colleges Governing Board for the past two years and during that time have been serving as an officer on the OACC Board Executive Committee,” said Doyle. “In June of 2019, I was elected to a two-year term as chair of the Governing Board of the OACC.”  

Doyle is active in both the OACC and the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). He has served on the ACCT Finance Committee and is also a member of the OACC Trustee Engagement Committee. Doyle has been a staunch advocate for community colleges with state and federal legislators.

Doyle was instrumental in leading the Clark State Board through the implementation of policy governance and has been a champion for the College’s strategic planning process. He was also awarded the Maureen C. Grady Award for Special Achievement by the OACC in 2014.

Throughout his tenure on the Clark State Board, Doyle has been a part of tremendous growth, including construction of the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center, Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Disaster Recovery Learning Lab and fire tower, a new campus location in Greene County and the 2005-2006 major gifts campaign that raised in excess of $11 million. 

I am honored that the OACC has elected Jim Doyle as chairman of the Board,” said Dr. Jo Alice Blondin, president of Clark State. “Jim exemplifies extraordinary leadership, dedication to the community college mission and an unwavering commitment to student success.”

OACC exists to advocate for Ohio's 23 community colleges, as well as serve as a resource for its member institutions. 

OACC provides leadership to develop and execute strategic direction for Ohio's community and technical colleges, represents its member colleges at the state and national level, promotes the benefit of community colleges to the residents of Ohio, provides opportunity for trustee development and facilitates the exchange of ideas on information.

Media Contact

Laurie Means Executive Director, Marketing