

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 16, 2024

The Clark State College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom with the majority of guests attending virtually on January 16, 2024. Chairperson Ball presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call:

Present in Person: Andy Bell, Kyle Hall, Mitchell Hurst, Mike McDorman, Ben Vollrath, Chairman David Ball, and President Jo Alice Blondin

Present Virtually: Peggy Noonan

Excused: Vice Chair Sharon Evans and Becka Rowland-Buckley

Others Present in Person: Dr. Matt Franz, Senior Vice President of Technology, Safety and Strategic Initiatives; Crystal Jones, Vice President for Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact; Dr. Dawayne Kirkman, Vice President of Student Affairs; Toni Overholser, Vice President of Advancement; Doug Schantz, Executive Vice President for Finance, Facilities and Operations; and Mellanie Toles, Executive Assistant to the President and Coordinator of Special Projects

Others Present Virtually: Dan Ayars, Director of Facilities, Operations and Maintenance; Dr. Travis Binkley, Dean of Enrollment Services; Kierre Brown, Assistant Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Nazarae Butler, Director of Athletics and Student Life; Petra Deason, Manager of Ticket Office Operations, Performing Arts Center/Staff Senate President; Sean Dodge, Institutional Research Analyst/SOAR participant; David Farrell, Senior Staff Accountant; Natalie Johnson, Associate Dean, Regional Locations; Tina Jones, Staff Accountant; Michael Key, Assistant Director of Retention Services/SOAR participant; Michael Lander, Assistant Professor, Business and Applied Technologies/Faculty Senate President; Naomi Louis, Dean, Arts and Sciences; Kathy Nelson, Controller; Kelly Neriani, Director of Institutional Research and Planning; Dr. Adam Parrillo, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Megan Platfoot, Instructor, Health, Human and Public Services/SOAR participant; Elecia Spain, Assistant Dean, Access and Retention Services; Amy Sues, Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, Assessment, and Accreditation; Jamie Teeple, Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences; Trish Voisard, Staff Accountant; Laura Whetstone, Director of Human Resources; Nina Wiley, Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs; and Danielle Williams, Workforce Development Business Development Manager/SOAR participant

Chair Ball welcomed guests and requested that anyone from the media identify themselves.

Oath of Office

Chair Ball congratulated Trustee Hurst on his appointment to the Board, and Dr. Blondin administered his Oath of Office.

There being no unfinished business, Trustee McDorman made a motion to adjourn from 2023 business sine die. Trustee Hall seconded, and the motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Noonan reported that the Nominating Committee met on November 14, 2023, and would like to nominate David Ball to continue to serve in the Chair position, Sharon Evans to continue the role of Vice Chair, Dr. Blondin to remain as Secretary, and Doug Schantz to remain as Treasurer.

There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Hurst made a motion to accept the nominations and elect David Ball Board Chair, Sharon Evans Vice Chair, Dr. Blondin Secretary, and Doug Schantz Treasurer. Trustee Hall seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

Representative Appointments

Chair Ball recommended the following Board committee appointments for 2024:

Advocacy, Student Success and Programs Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Kyle Hall; Becka Rowland-Buckley; Ben Vollrath

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Andy Bell; Peggy Noonan

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell and Mitch Hurst, Co-Chairs; Sharon Evans; Peggy Noonan; Becka Rowland-Buckley

Human Resources Committee: Sharon Evans, Chair; Kyle Hall; Mike McDorman; Ben Vollrath

Representative to the Clark State Foundation Board: Peggy Noonan

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Trustee Bell made a motion to approve the committee appointments as presented. Trustee McDorman seconded, and the motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

2024 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Ball presented the 2024 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 16, 2024	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 27, 2024 (Note: 4 th Tuesday)	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 19, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 23, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 th Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
REACH Center, Xenia		
May 11, 2024	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 21, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 25, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 th Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2024		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2024		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 17, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 15, 2024	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
Ohio Hi-Point Career Center,	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
Bellefontaine		
November 19 <i>,</i> 2024	8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.	Board Retreat
December 2024		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 21, 2025	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Hall made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Bell seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

2024 Board of Trustees Directory

The 2024 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chair Ball asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

Adjournment

Trustee McDorman made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Hurst seconded. The motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote, and the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.