

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 15, 2019

The Clark State Community College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom on January 15, 2019. Chairperson Evans presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call: Present: David Ball; Andy Bell; Jim Doyle; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald; Mike

McDorman; Vice Chair Brad Phillips; Chairperson Sharon Evans; and Secretary

to the Board, President Blondin

Excused: Peggy Noonan

Others Present: Adele Adkins, Executive Director of the Performing Arts Center; Dan Ayars,

Director of Facilities, Operations and Maintenance; Lesli Beavers, Director of Workforce and Business Solutions; Aimee Belanger-Haas, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Travis Binkley, Assistant Dean of Advising and Enrollment Services, Greene Center; Dr. Sterling Coleman, Director of Library Services; Mike Cuffman, Assistant Dean of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Theresa Felder, Senior Vice President of Student Success; Dr. Matt Franz, Vice President of Information Technology; Ron Gordon, Dean of Enrollment Nora Hatem, Assistant Professor, Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR participant; Dr. Tiffany Hunter, Vice President of Academic Crystal Jones, Assistant Dean of Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR participant; Fantine Kerckaert, Senior Director, Customer Insights, Cox Media Group Ohio; Theresa Lauricella, Associate Professor, Arts and Sciences/SOAR participant; Naomi Louis, Dean of Arts and Sciences; Mel Marsh, consultant; Justin McCulla, Director of Athletics and Student Life; Laurie Means, Executive Director of Marketing; Bobbi Mills, Administrative Assistant, Workforce Development/SOAR participant; Toni Overholser, Director of the Foundation; Brandy Phipps, Adjunct Faculty Member; Gwen Stevenson, Interim Dean of Health, Human and Public Services; Amy Sues, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, Assessment; Mellanie Toles, Assistant to the President; Larry Wakefield, Vice President for Affairs; Nathan Walters, Network and Systems Administrator/Staff Senate President; and Tracy Yates, HBC and Conference Services Manager/Staff Senate President-Elect/SOAR participant; and Nina Wiley, Dean of Student **Engagement and Support Services**

Oath of Office

Chair Evans administered the oath of office to reappointed Trustees Kyle Hall and Mike McDorman.

There being no unfinished business, Trustee Bell made a motion to adjourn from 2018 business sine die. Trustee Doyle seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Doyle reported that the Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate Brad Phillips to serve as Chair and David Ball to serve as Vice Chair this year. There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Bell made a motion to accept the nominations and elect Brad Phillips Board Chair and David Ball Vice Chair.

President Blondin presented outgoing Chair Evans with a plaque as a token of appreciation for her leadership as Board Chair the past two years, noting that one of the legacies that will continue as an endearing reminder of her leadership will be for the Board to hear from a student at every Board meeting.

Trustee Evans requested that newly appointed Chair Phillips preside over the remainder of the meeting.

Chairman Phillips thanked the Nominating Committee for their work and nomination, and thanked the Trustees for their confidence in him, noting that he will have big shoes to fill.

Chair Ball made a motion to reappoint President Blondin as Secretary to the Board and to reappoint Larry Wakefield as Treasurer of the Board, as required by Ohio statute. Trustee Bell seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Representative Appointments

Chairman Phillips recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; and Andy Bell

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; David Ball; Jim Doyle; Sharon Evans; and Peggy Noonan

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; and Kyle Hall

Human Resources Committee: Jim Doyle, Chair; Sharon Evans; Maurice McDonald; and Mike McDorman

Representative to the Clark State Foundation Board: David Ball

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

2019 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Phillips presented the 2019 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State Community College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 19, 2019	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 19, 2019	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 19, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 16, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 11, 2019	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 21, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 18, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2019		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2019		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 17, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 22, 2019	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 th Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 19, 2019	11:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Board Retreat
December 2019		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 21, 2020	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Doyle made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Vice Chair Ball seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

2019 Board of Trustees Directory

A 2019 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chairman Phillips asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Vice Chair Ball made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Hall seconded. The motion passed unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 4:53 p.m.