

Board of Trustees Reorganization Meeting

MINUTES January 17, 2023

The Clark State College Board of Trustees met in special session in the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center Boardroom with the majority of guests attending virtually via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic on January 17, 2023. Chairperson Hall presided and called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

Roll Call:

Present in Person: Sharon Evans, Maurice McDonald, Mike McDorman, Becka Rowland-Buckley, Ben Vollrath, Chairman Kyle Hall, Vice Chair David Ball, and President Jo Alice Blondin

Present Virtually: Andy Bell and Peggy Noonan

Others Present in Person: Dr. Matt Franz, Senior Vice President of Technology, Safety and Strategic Initiatives; Crystal Jones, Vice President for Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact; Susan Kelly, Assistant to the Vice President for Business Affairs; Dr. Dawayne Kirkman, Vice President of Student Affairs; Toni Overholser, Vice President, Advancement; and Doug Schantz, Vice President for Business Affairs

Others Present Virtually: Jessica Adams, Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences/Faculty Senate President; Dan Ayars, Director of Facilities, Operations and Maintenance; Dr. Travis Binkley, Dean of Enrollment Services; Kierre Brown, Instructor, Business and Applied Technologies/SOAR Participant; Nazarae, Butler, Academic Advisor/SOAR Participant; Cali Cary-Devine, Project Director, Student Support Services; Avery Davison, AG/Horticulture Instructor/SOAR Participant; Dr. Rob Derr, Associate Professor, Arts and Sciences/SOAR Participant; David Farrell, Senior Staff Accountant; Dr. Adrienne Forgette, Vice President for Academic Affairs; Andrea Fulton, Administrative Support Specialist, Advising and Retention Services; Janie Harkins, Payroll Assistant; Tina Jones, Staff Accountant; Darci Jordan, Writer, Marketing; Senti Longkumer, Assistant Dean, Arts and Sciences; Naomi Louis, Dean, Arts and Sciences; John Minter, Student Support Specialist; Kathy Nelson, Controller; Kelly Neriani, Director of Institutional Research; Dr. Patience Olajide, Assistant Professor, Health, Human and Public Services; Dr. Adam Parrillo, Dean of Business and Applied Technologies; Dr. Barb Shelby, Academic Affairs Consultant; Elecia Spain, Assistant Dean, Access and Retention Services; Amy Sues, Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, Assessment, and Accreditation; Roseann Terbay, Peer Recovery Support Specialist/SOAR Participant; Gary Trisel, Client Support Manager/SOAR Participant; William Weekley, Commercial Transportation Training Center Training and Test Center Manager/Staff Senate President; Nina Wiley, Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs; and Nikki Woodyard, Academic Testing Specialist

At this time, Chair Hall welcomed guests and requested that anyone from the media speak up by stating their name and media outlet.

Oath of Office

Chair Hall congratulated Trustee Evans on her reappointment for another six-year term and new Trustees Becka Rowland-Buckley and Ben Vollrath on their appointments for a six-year term and administered their Oaths of Office. There being no unfinished business, Trustee McDorman made a motion to adjourn from 2022 business sine die. Vice Chair Ball seconded, and the motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

REORGANIZATION MEETING

Election of Officers/Appointments

Trustee Noonan reported that the Nominating Committee met in October and would like to nominate David Ball step into the Chair position, Sharon Evans assumes the role of Vice Chair, Dr. Blondin remain as Secretary, and Doug Schantz remain as Treasurer.

There being no nominations from the floor, Trustee Noonan made a motion to accept the nominations and elect David Ball Board Chair, Sharon Evans Vice Chair, Dr. Blondin Secretary, and Doug Schantz Treasurer. Trustee McDonald seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

Trustee Hall congratulated Chair Ball on his new position and invited him to conduct the remainder of the meeting.

At this time, Dr. Blondin presented Trustee Hall with a gavel plaque as a token of appreciation. She expressed gratitude for the leadership he has shown during his time as Chair and for his constant focus on our students, faculty and staff, as well as his work on Achieving the Dream, his excellent representation of Champaign County, and the instrumental role he played in our progress in manufacturing. Dr. Blondin stated that Trustee Hall was an absolute pleasure to work with, addressing issues easily and with care, and she hopes he will assume the role of Chair at another time in the future. Trustee Hall stated that he enjoyed his time as Chair and recalled his first meeting as Chair; he had COVID and had to attend remotely, lost connectivity, and had to contact Dr. Franz for help.

Trustee Hall then asked Chair Ball to say a few words. Chair Ball expressed appreciation for Trustee Hall's efforts, noting that he will attempt to meet the high standard he set as Chair; he also thanked the Nominating Committee for their work.

Representative Appointments

Chair Ball recommended the following Board committee appointments:

Board Governance and Policy Committee: Peggy Noonan, Chair; Andy Bell

Finance and Facilities Committee: Andy Bell, Chair; Becka Rowland-Buckley; Sharon Evans; Peggy Noonan

Government/Community Relations Committee: Mike McDorman, Chair; Becka Rowland-Buckley; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald; Ben Vollrath

Human Resources Committee: Sharon Evans, Chair; Kyle Hall; Maurice McDonald; Mike McDorman

Representative to the Clark State Foundation Board: Peggy Noonan

It was noted that the Board Chairperson is Ex-Officio of all committees, and all Trustees are welcome to attend all committee meetings.

Trustee McDorman made a motion to approve the committee appointments as presented. Trustee Hall seconded, and the motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

2023 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar

Chairman Ball presented the 2023 Board of Trustees Meeting Calendar as follows:

Unless otherwise noted, the Board of Trustees will meet in Room 113 of the Sara T. Landess Technology and Learning Center, Clark State College, 570 East Leffel Lane, Springfield, Ohio, according to the following schedule:

DATE	TIME	EVENT
January 17, 2023	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
February 21, 2023	Charter Night	No Formal Meeting
March 21, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
April 18, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
May 13, 2023	10:00 a.m.	Graduation/No Meeting
May 16, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
June 27, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
(Note: 4 th Tuesday)	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
July 2023		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
August 2023		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
September 19, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
October 17, 2023	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting
November 21, 2023	8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.	Board Retreat
December 2023		No Formal Meeting, unless needed
January 16, 2024	4:45 p.m.	Reorganization Meeting
	5:00 p.m.	Work Session
	6:00 p.m.	Formal Meeting

Trustee Hall made a motion to approve the calendar as presented. Trustee Rowland-Buckley seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously via a roll call vote.

2023 Board of Trustees Directory

The 2023 Board of Trustees Directory was distributed at the meeting. Chair Ball asked that any changes be communicated to Mellanie Toles.

Adjournment

Vice Chair Evans made a motion to adjourn the meeting, and Trustee Hall seconded. The motion passed unanimously via a roll call vote, and the meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m.