Skip to Content
Clark State Celebrates 61st Annual Charter Night, Honors Employees for Service, Excellence

Clark State Celebrates 61st Annual Charter Night, Honors Employees for Service, Excellence

February 22, 2023

Clark State College celebrated its 61st Annual Charter Night Tuesday, February 21. Charter Night serves to remind the college and community about the establishment of Clark State’s charter in 1966 to operate as a post-secondary institution in the region

Academic professionals were also recognized at Charter Night. These professionals perform a wide range of critical functions for the college community and beyond. The Professional Excellence Award celebrates outstanding full-time faculty and staff, as well as adjunct faculty for their professional accomplishments, dedication and commitment to the College.

The Clark State College Board of Trustees elevated two former Board members and a retired professor to Emeritus status: Jim Doyle, Tom Duffee and Brad Phillips. To be considered for Emeritus status one must have achieved specific eligibility criteria.

“The individuals selected as Emeriti have demonstrated dedicated service to Clark State and its students,” said Clark State President Dr. Jo Alice Blondin. “The purpose of emeritus status is to acknowledge and recognize outstanding achievement among retired employees at Clark State, and these three individuals have made significant and measurable contributions to the institution that have impacted student success for years to come.”

Doyle and Phillips both served on the Clark State Board of Trustees. Duffee served as program coordinator and professor of Emergency Medical Services at Clark State. Duffee is also the founder of the Clark State Safety Committee and served as Safety Coordinator until his retirement.

Clark State’s Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs, Nina Wiley, was also recognized at Charter Night for her five years of service as advisor for the Alpha Nu Lambda Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society (PTK). PTK serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education.

Each year Clark State honors adjunct faculty, faculty and staff who have gone above and beyond their regular duties to assist our students and customers, our co-workers and community partners and who are continually committed to the success of the College.

2023 Adjunct Professional Excellence Awardees

Laura Cook

Carol Corkern

Robert Nutt

2023 Faculty Professional Excellence Awardees

Brandi Brown

Dr. Bridget Ingram

Garrett Fisher

Debra Padgett

2023 Staff Professional Excellence Awardees

Lori Common

Cathy Tagg

Melinda Van Noord

Nathan Walters

In addition, 29 employees of Clark State were recognized for their years of service to the college.  Area legislators, retirees, members of the Clark State Board of Trustees and Foundation Board of Directors were in attendance for the Charter Night festivities.

Throughout Clark State’s 61 years, the college has received numerous accolades for its achievements in diversity, equity and inclusion, workforce development, community partnerships and outreach and educational milestones. The economic impact of Clark State on Champaign, Clark, Greene and Logan Counties is in excess of $161 million dollars annually.

Media Contact

Lori Common Communications Coordinator