Skip to Content
Clark State Honors Student-Athletes at Annual Athletic Banquet

Clark State Honors Student-Athletes at Annual Athletic Banquet

May 23, 2022

Clark State College honored numerous student athletes at an in-person athletic banquet held May 11. The College honored Clark State athletes who earned honors on the All-OCCAC Academic Team, Athletic Director’s Honor Roll and Conference awards.

“We want to reward our student-athletes for their hard work on and off the field and court,” said Justin McCulla, director of athletics and student life for Clark State. “Sports are essential for young men and women to stay involved and committed. It prepares them for the future.”

Various student-athletes from each sport are recognized for their sportsmanship, dedication and athletic achievement.

Dr. Jo Alice Blondin, president of Clark State, said many potential students don’t realize Clark State offers the option to play sports at the college level. “Our athletic programs are part of the National Junior College Athletic Association and provide an opportunity for student-athletes to improve upon their skills and potentially move on to play for a four-year school.”

In 2014, Clark State joined NJCAA and competes at the Division II level in women’s softball, volleyball and basketball; and men’s baseball and basketball. Clark State is also a member of the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC).

OCCAC Award Winners


Will Stultz, baseball: OCCAC 2nd Team


Haylee Gunter, women’s basketball: Team First Year Player & OCCAC Honorable Mention

LaMarrie Hawkins, women’s basketball: Team Co-MVP


Meghan Orr, volleyball: Team's Hustle Award


Arizona Henderson, softball: Team Student-Athlete Award, OCCAC 2nd Team


Zavian Ricks, men’s basketball: OCCAC Honorable Mention & Team's Student-Athlete Award


Skylar Cox, softball: Team First Year Award

Grove City

Derek Seigneur, baseball: OCCAC 1st Team


CJ Hartley, softball: Team Hustle Award


Kinsey Kunz, softball: OCCAC 2nd Team

Senegal, West Africa                      

GiGi Niang, women’s basketball: Team Student-Athlete Award


Mike Wallace, men’s basketball: OCCAC 1st Team & All Region & Team MVP

Trey Dunn, men’s basketball: OCCAC 2nd Team & All-Defensive Team & Team Hustle Award

Dale Bush, men’s basketball: Team First Year Award

Chloe Castillo, volleyball: Team Hustle Award

Allie DeWitt, volleyball: Team MVP

Alyssa Blanke, volleyball: Team Student-Athlete Award

Tarpon Springs, FL

Ben Scartz, baseball: Team's MVP, OCCAC 1st Team


Lindsey Brayton, volleyball: OCCAC 1st Team & All-Freshman Team & Team First Year Player

West Liberty

Mikalia McIntosh, women’s basketball: Team Co-MVP


Izzy Simmons, women’s basketball: Team Hustle Award

Blue and Gold Awards

Team of the Year    

Baseball: 2022 OCCAC Conference Champions

Coach of the Year   

Rick Antinori, baseball, 30 - 12 & Conference Champions

Best Supporting Cast         

Anthony Silvera, baseball Alliston, Canada

Male Newcomer of the Year        

Kenny Blackmore, baseball, Beavercreek  

Breakout Student-Athlete

Kenny Blackmore, baseball, Beavercreek  

Female Outstanding Student-Athlete    

Lindsey Brayton, volleyball, DeGraff  

Female Newcomer of the Year    

Skylar Cox, softball, Franklin         

Female Scholar Student-Athlete

GiGi Niang, women’s basketball, Senegal, West Africa   

Male Scholar Student-Athlete     

Dale Bush, men’s basketball, Springfield     

Male Outstanding Student-Athlete, Best Individual Game   

Ben Scartz, baseball, Tarpon Spring, FL  

Defensive Player of the Year       

Izzy Simmons, women’s basketball, Whitehall      

Media Contact

Crystal Jones Vice President of Marketing, Diversity and Community Impact