Skip to Content
Clark State President Blondin to Receive ACCT CEO Award

Clark State President Blondin to Receive ACCT CEO Award

August 8, 2023

Dr. Jo Alice Blondin, president of Clark State College was named as recipient of the 2023 Central Region CEO award by the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT).

Blondin will be recognized at the ACCT annual awards gala in Las Vegas this October. As the regional award recipient, she is also the sole nominee from the central region for the prestigious Marie Y. Martin Chief Executive Officer award.

“It is truly an honor to be recognized among these impactful college leaders,” said Blondin. “Additionally, this recognition is really about the Board, faculty, staff, and students’ student success efforts at Clark State.”

Blondin has served as president of Clark State for more than a decade. She focuses her efforts on realizing the mission of the institutions she has served and is known for both her student-centered approach and her emphasis on workforce development. Blondin’s national, regional, and local service strengthens Clark State’s responsiveness to workforce and community needs.

“Dr. Blondin has demonstrated an unparalleled and peerless commitment to advancing the community college movement through her tireless work as President of Clark State,” said David Ball, chair of the Clark State Board of Trustees. “Her focus on creating a ‘culture of care’ for all members of the Clark State community is evident in the actions she has taken over the past ten years as president.”

Ball said Blondin’s leadership as Chair of the Higher Learning Commission Board of Trustees, her service to the American Association of Community College Board of Directors, and her work as past President and Board member of the National Council for Workforce Education have positioned Clark State as a national leader in student success and workforce development.

“I have been proud to serve on the Board of Trustees and as its chair, am honored to work with Dr. Blondin,” said Ball. “I truly believe that she is an excellent candidate to receive this award.”

ACCT's Regional Awards recognize the tremendous contributions made by trustees, equity programs, chief executive officers, faculty members, and professional board staff.

“The roles and responsibilities of community colleges have increased considerably in recent years,” said ACCT Chair and South Texas College Trustee Rose Benavidez. “The individuals who have been selected to receive this important recognition are truly vital to their communities and regions.”

The ACCT is a non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond.

These community professionals, business officials, public policy leaders, and leading citizens offer their time and talent to serve on the governing boards of this century's most innovative higher education institutions-community, junior, and technical colleges-and make decisions that affect more than 1,200 colleges and over 11 million students annually.

“ACCT’s member colleges and the individuals who serve them work tirelessly, often with little recognition,” said ACCT President and CEO Jee Hang Lee. “We are proud to shine a spotlight on some of the nation’s best public servants and professionals through our regional awards program.” 

 The 2023 ACCT Awards program is sponsored by Edamerica.

Media Contact

Erika Daggett Director, Marketing