Skip to Content
Clark State to Hold PTK Induction Ceremony

Clark State to Hold PTK Induction Ceremony

November 14, 2023

Alpha Nu Lambda, Clark State College’s chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), will hold its fall induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, November 15 at the Hollenbeck Bayley Creative Arts and Conference Center in downtown Springfield.

More than 50 Clark State students will be inducted into the organization.

To be an eligible candidate for PTK, students must have completed at least 12 college-level credit hours and have a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Membership benefits include scholarships; free access to Five Star Competitive Edge, a personal and professional development plan for building marketable skills and an online portfolio; increased pay grade for entry-level federal jobs; tuition discounts; and more.

“We are honored to celebrate the academic achievements of so many remarkable students. We continually strive to provide opportunities in the areas of leadership, fellowship, scholarship, and service to maximize our students’ membership in Phi Theta Kappa,” said Nina Wiley, assistant vice president of student affairs and PTK advisor at Clark State.

Keynote speaker at the induction event will be Anthony Reed.

Reed graduated from Clark State in May 2018 with an Associate of Science General Transfer Degree. During his time at Clark State, he was a proud member of Phi Theta Kappa, involved in the Clark State Theatre Arts program, and a dedicated student. In 2018 Reed transferred to Wright State University where he earned a bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies, Magna Cum Laude. He currently works as an Admissions Specialist here at Clark State College, helping students achieve their academic and social goals. He dedicates this to his late father, Matthew Yates.

“I chose to attend Clark State because of the money I saved going there for two years before going to a state school,” said Reed. “I will be talking about my educational journey and how Clark State has helped me grow as a student and as a person; I dedicate this to my late father, Matthew Yates.”

New PTK officers Sean Allen, vice president of scholarship and Jessica Robbins, public relations officer will be inducted into their positions at the event. Rachel Harstad, president, Annalise Smith, vice president of service, and Jonathan Price, recording officer will continue in their current officer roles.

The Leadership in Action Conference was also hosted by Clark State in October of this year. Clark State president Dr. Jo Alice Blondin welcomed PTK members from the Ohio Region.

Blondin announced that 90 percent of a Clark State student’s PTK membership fees will be covered by the college, thus reducing the amount a student pays to $8.50 for Spring 2024. Previously, the college paid for 75 percent of the membership fees.

Nettie Carter-Smith was the keynote and she brought energy and motivation; and the Phi Theta Kappa International President, Liam Blakeway, led a powerful presentation on leadership.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Fall 2023 Inductees

Champaign County

Charles Bauer

Justin Baumgardner

Mersedes Beasley

Amy Cundiff

Rebecca Dillon

Andrea Hord

Seth Inskeep

Kaydee Roberts

Taylor Shadoan

Clark County

Courtney Aldridge

Sheila Bowen

Cedrick Dave R. Charles

Corey Conley

Gerda Delva-Brize

Parker Drewery

Katherine Frazier

Gillian Harris

Dylan Haugen

Andrea Jones

Aidan Kocher

Harley Lacey

Lindsey Menda

Madison Payne

Jason Perdue

George Rincon

Tajia Roark

Jessica Robbins

Seth Schetter

Jaidin Smith

Emmanuela Wirth-Adonis

Kayla Wood

Franklin County

Stephanie Martin

Greene County

Ashley Brown

Sydney Corcoran

Aaron Douglas

Londa Dube

Jessica Germann

Deborah Isaiah

Calianne Johnson

Hailee Kunkler

Akenzleigh Miner

Keri Peck

Hilary Philistin

Jenifer Robinson

Logan County

Scott Wilkinson

Madison County

Aubrey Miller

Kassie Patterson

Ivy Short

Marion County

Zachary Peterson

Miami County

Hayley Abernathy

Montgomery County

Antoine Dorsey

April Jones

Christina Porter

Cherish Rittenhouse

Keyauna Stollings

Jacquee Wellman

Shelby County

Tessa Schmidt

Union County

Joseph Ward

Media Contact

Lori Common Communications Coordinator